Milestone! Episode 75: Interview with Kimmery Martin



What a way to kick off my 75th episode: hosting author Kimmery Martin for her latest book, Doctors and Friends, and co-hosting this special episode with my pal Cindy Burnett at Thoughts from a Page podcast!

People Magazine calls Doctors and Friends a “..prescient, human and hopeful portrait of medical experts on a pandemic’s frontlines.” And I couldn’t agree more. We talked about writing the book pre-pandemic, how it changed post-pandemic, her wonderful website and so much more! Give a listen.

Kimmery Martin recommends: My Year Abroad by Chang-Rae Lee. My interview with Chang-Rae Lee can be found here!

Place your holds for these Kimmery Martin titles right here.


E74: Interview with Naomi Krupitsky



They say you can’t go home again but I sure did, right back to Brooklyn, NY with author Naomi Krupitsky’s debut novel The Family.  Set in early 20th century Brooklyn, The Family is a captivating debut novel and coming-of-age story about the tangled fates of two best friends, Sophia and Antonia, who are both daughters of the Italian mafia. My copy of The Family is covered in sticky notes, Krupitsky’s prose is beautiful, and I can’t wait for you to read it. Thank you so much for joining me Naomi!

The Family is a November 2021 Read With Jenna Pick and a NYT Bestseller!

Naomi recommends: Matrix by Lauren Groff; and Beasts of a Little Land by Juhea Kim


Episode 73: Interview with Wanda M. Morris!



This buzzy debut thriller, All Her Little Secrets by Wanda M. Morris has all the things and has made all the lists! NYT best-selling author Karin Slaughter says, “All Her Little Secrets is a brilliantly nuanced but powerhouse exploration of race, the legal system, and the crushing pressure of keeping secrets. Morris brings a vibrant and welcome new voice to the thriller space.” — Karin Slaughter

In this fast-paced debut, Wanda M. Morris crafts a twisty mystery about a black lawyer who gets caught in a dangerous conspiracy after the sudden death of her boss. Perfect for fans of Attica Locke, Alyssa Cole, Harlan Coben, and Celeste Ng, with shades of How to Get Away with Murder and John Grisham’s The Firm.

We talked about her incredible main character, Ellice Littlejohn, Wanda’s love for libraries, and what it was like being a Library Journal cover girl. This episode is action packed and to say I loved speaking with Wanda M. Morris is an understatement. Give a listen!

Wanda M. Morris recommends: Her Name is Knight by Yasmin Angoe


Episode 72: Interview with Josh Sabarra



I had such a blast interviewing Josh Sabarra for his debut novel, Enemies Closer.

Author Lauren Fox says, “Enemies Closer is a fizzy cocktail of insider Hollywood gossip, biting, laugh-out-loud humor and a supremely likable, relatable heroine. Enemies Closer is a twisty and delightful page-turner of a novel.” –Lauren Fox, bestselling author of Days of Awe, Friends Like Us and Still Life with Husband

Josh and I talked Skinny Cow ice cream, decorative throw pillows (at least ten), and his fabulous protagonist, Marcee Brookes. #teammarcee

Josh also revealed some of his exciting new projects and all I can say is, give a listen!  Thank you so much Josh.

Josh Sabarra recommends: Days of Awe by Lauren Fox; Send For Me by Lauren Fox; Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed; The Hunting Wives by May Cobb; My Summer Darlings by May Cobb (2022); Bath Haus by P. J. Vernon; Small Changes: A Rules Free Guide to Add More Plant-Based Foods, Peace and Power to Your Life by Alicia Witt

Follow Josh on Twitter & Instagram at @joshsabarra and on Facebook at @JoshSabarraAuthor


Episode 71: Interview with Nathaniel Philbrick



What happened to George Washington after the Revolution? Find out in Nathaniel Philbrick’s latest bestselling book, Travels with George: In Search of George Washington and His Legacy.

Among other things, we talk about George Washington’s trip through Long Island, Philbrick’s love for libraries, and his excellent traveling companions. An absolutely delightful interview… thank you Nathaniel!

Award winning author Nathaniel Philbrick recommends, Washington: A Life by Ron Chernow


Episode 70: Interview with Isla Morley



In this luminous historical fiction narrative inspired by the fascinating real case of the Blue People of Kentucky, Isla Morley probes questions of identity, love, and family in her breathtaking new novel.

In 1937, there are recesses in Appalachia no outsiders have ever explored. Two government-sponsored documentarians from Ohio, a writer and photographer are dispatched to penetrate this wilderness and record what they find for President Roosevelt’s Works Progress Administration. For photographer Clay Havens, the assignment is his last chance to reboot his flagging career. So when he and his journalist partner are warned away from the remote Spooklight Holler outside of town, they set off eagerly in search of a headline story.

I was hooked from the first page, second sentence. Morley’s prose is luminous indeed and I was thrilled to host her for this episode. A must read and book club gold. Can’t thank her enough for joining me.

Isla Morley recommends, The Body by Bill Bryson; Leaving Coy’s Hill by Katherine Sherbrooke; How to Fly by Barbara Kingsolver

   


Episode 69: Interview with Megan Abbott



Just after being selected as the August Read with Jenna pick for her latest book, The Turnout,  I was thrilled to host Megan AbbottAbbott was waving to us from Queens when we spoke…

Taut and unnerving, The Turnout is Megan Abbott at the height of her game. With uncanny insight and hypnotic writing, it is a sharp and strange dissection of family ties and sexuality, femininity and power, and a tale that is both alarming and irresistible and I will not say another word about it, I was on the edge of my seat. Give a listen!

Megan Abbott recommends: Blacktop Wasteland and Razorblade Tears, both by S.A.Cosby; Dreamgirl by Laura Lippman; The Collective by Alison Gaylin

Place you hold for all Megan Abbott titles here. 

    

 


Episode 67: Interview with Claire Luchette



Claire Luchette is so wildly talented that I would follow them anywhere. Here, it’s to Woonsocket along with four women who are searching for meaning and a sense of belonging from each other and the world beyond. The result is a novel that’s blazingly original, wry, and perfectly attuned to the oddness―and the profundity―of life.”
―Cristina Henríquez, author of The Book of Unknown Americans

What a pleasure to sit down with Claire Luchette to talk about her gorgeous debut, Agatha of Little Neon. The book offers a view into the lives of women and the choices they make. It is a novel about female friendship and devotion, the roles made available to us, and how we become ourselves. I loved this absolute gem of a book…thank you so much for joining me Claire Luchette!

Claire recommends:  Afterparties by Anthony Veasna So ; Something New Under the Sun by Alexanda Kleeman


Episode 66: Interview with Byron Lane



Author Julia Claiborne Johnson, the bestselling author of Better Luck Next Time, and our guest on Top Shelf E56, says this about A STAR IS BORED by Byron Lane:

“I didn’t go into this expecting a love story, but the one here between a Hollywood assistant and his famous, hilarious and deeply lonely boss came very close to breaking my heart.”

A STAR IS BORED by Byron Lane is also a love letter to Carrie Fisher paved with heartbreak, humor, and love. What a special episode, I loved every minute…thank you so much Byron!

Byron Lane recommends: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon; Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole; Heart of Junk by Luke Geddes; Bath Haus by P.J. Vernon; Yes, Daddy by Jonathan Parks-Ramage

 


Episode 65: Interview with Matthew Norman, 2021 Edition!



Welcome back to our E35 guest, Matthew Norman. Matthew Norman was here previously to talk about his third book, Last Couple Standing.  For this episode, we talk about his latest publication, All Together Now. Please feel free to sing right along with that title!  All Together Now is about a reclusive billionaire who invites his four oldest friends to their beloved Fenwick Island on the coast of Delaware to share his secret and to reveal plans to change their lives forever.

So grab your beach towels, unfold your picnic blankets and check this one out! This novel of friendship will kick off your summer reading perfectly! Can’t thank Matthew Norman enough for coming back on the show!

Reserve your copies here: All Together Now; Last Couple Standing; Domestic Violets; We’re All Damaged

Matthew Norman recommends: Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau; Station Eleven and Glass Hotel both by Emily St. Mandel; All Adult Here by Emma Straub