Category Archives: Author Interview

Episode 139: Interview with Anders de la Motte, author of The Mountain King



For this episode I was thrilled to host Anders de la Motte, one of Sweden’s most cherished crime writers, to talk about his latest American release, The Mountain King. This page-turning thriller is the first bestselling installment in his new Leo Asker series and The Mountain King is not to be missed. The son of a librarian, Anders talks all about his love of reading, being in the library during off hours, his love of Agatha Christie, his writing origin story and so much more. Thank you Anders!

Anders recommends: the work of Jo Nesbo; Long Bright River by Liz Moore; the work of Agatha Christie. Place your hold here for books by Anders de la Motte!

Follow Anders on Facebook and Instagram: @andersdelamotte

 


Episode 137: Interview with Heather Levy, author of Hurt For Me



“Titles pop into my head as I’m falling asleep.” ~ Heather Levy

What a thrill to host Heather Levy for this episode! I missed Heather for her debut Walking Through Needles and to say I was excited to host her for Hurt For Me, is an understatement! Edgar Award-nominated author Jess Lourey says, “Levy’s latest grips you by the throat from page one and never lets up. It’s a riveting, sexy, twisty mystery full of beautiful writing and characters you can’t help but care about.” And boy is that the truth about this terrific dark romance! For E137, we talk about the fabulous Hurt For Me, her debut Walking Through Needles, wine, cookies, and so much more! Loved every minute, thank you Heather!

Heather Levy recommends: Almost Surely Dead by Amina Akhtar; Safe and Slow by Laura McHugh; The Devil and Mrs. Davenport. Heather’s favorite spot to buy cookies is: Creative Cookie Corner. 

  


Episode 136: Interview with Amy Jo Burns, author of Mercury



“Roofers are the best storytellers…” ~ Amy Jo Burns

We kick off 2024 the right way with author Amy Jo Burns! She sat down with me to talk about her 2024 release, Mercury, a compelling family drama about the Joseph family that takes place in the town of Mercury. The Josephs are a roofing family and their bonds of loyalty are tested when they uncover a long-hidden secret at the heart of their blue-collar town. The characters will stay with you long after you turn the last page. We also chat about her terrific debut Shiner, what she’s working on next, and more. Thank you Amy Jo!

Follow Amy Jo Burns on Instagram: @burnsamyjo

Amy Jo Burns recommends East of Eden by John Steinbeck.

  


E135: Interview with Danielle Arceneaux, author of Glory Be



Top Shelf is ending 2023 with the glorious Glory Be, a fantastic mystery by debut author Danielle Arceneaux. Glory Be is “Murder She Wrote” with an African American lead. Instead of Cabot Cove, readers will find themselves in Lafayette, Louisiana and you will want to take that journey!  Glory Be is the first in a vivid and charming crime series set in the bayou, introducing readers to the hilariously uncensored amateur sleuth Glory Broussard. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s Thursday Murder Club. For this episode Danielle Arceneaux talks about writing her debut, what’s next for Miss Glory herself and so much more. Glory Be is a must read, a perfect gift, and a series we all look forward to. Thank you so much for joining me Danielle!

Danielle Arceneaux recommends: The Last Devil to Die by Richard Osman; The Housekeepers by Alex Hay


E134: Interview with May Cobb, author of A Likeable Woman



May Day! May Day! One of the most likeable authors I know, May Cobb sat down with me for this episode to talk about her latest thriller, A Likeable Woman. Author Eliza Jane Brazier calls it, “An evocative tale filled with sultry glamour and secrets as thick as an East Texas pine forest.” May also shared ALL the info about her second book, The Hunting Wives becoming a limited series over on STARZ, and man I can hardly wait for that. And I also can’t wait for May’s 2024 release, The Hollywood Assistant. Great episode, thank you so much May!

May Cobb recommends: Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers and I’m Not Done With You Yet by Jessie Sutanto; An American Girl by Wendy Walker; Girls And Their Horses by Eliza Jane Brazier, Enemies Closer and Porn Again both by Josh Sabarra. Movies mentioned: Fatal Attraction and Unfaithful.


Episode 133: Interview with Suzanne Crain Miller, author of Temperatures



I am so late to the Suzanne Crain Miller party, and boy am I thrilled to be here! I read Suzanne’s most recent novel, Temperatures, over the summer and to say I was riveted is an understatement. Temperatures is a Southern noir page-turning thriller set in the oppressive summer heat of rural North Carolina. Police officers Mitchum Cobb and Cyrus Hogue partner up to battle what the volatile south dishes out in the wake of 2020.

For this episode we talk about her amazing book Temperatures, how she develops her characters, how improv classes help her writing; what she’s working on next, and more! Thank you so much for joining me Suzanne!

Suzanne Crain Miller recommends:  Galveston by Nic Pizzolatto; Invention of Sound and Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk; Hurt For Me and Walking Through Needles both by Heather Levy; Heartbroke by Chelsea Bieker; My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout; Like a Sister by Kellye Garrett; American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis; Little Children and Mrs. Fletcher by Tom Perotta; Blacktop Wasteland by S.A. Cosby; Hello Beautiful by Ann Napolitano; Lakeview Terrace: The Movie; True Detective: the HBO Series; Copycat: The Movie.

Get all your Suzanne Crain Miller titles right here!

  


E132: Interview with Angie Kim, author of Happiness Falls



You all remember Episode 27 when I hosted Angie Kim for her Edgar Award winning debut, Miracle Creek. Well what a thrill to host Angie once again for her best-selling, GMA book of the month club choice, Happiness Falls! For this episode we go in depth to talk about Angelman Syndrome, non-verbal communication, flipping the mystery/suspense trope, the science behind the happiness quotient and so much more. Please give a listen to this fantastic episode. Thank you Angie Kim for taking time out of your busy tour to sit down with me for this episode!

Angie Kim recommends: The Reason I Jump by KA Yoshida; Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro; In the Lake of the Woods by Tim O’Brien; Bel Canto and Tom Lake, both by Ann Patchett; Chemistry by Weike Wang.

Place you hold for Angie Kim titles here. 

 


E131: Interview with Erin Flanagan, author of Come With Me



“I try to make my characters as smart as they can be…” so says Edgar Award winning author Erin Flanagan in this episode. I had the pleasure of sitting down with Erin to talk about her latest thriller, Come With Me. Author Liz Alterman says, “Come With Me is a roller-coaster ride that will have you holding your breath until the final page.” Indeed! We also chat about Erin’s Edgar winning book Deer Season, her short stories, her marvelous writer friends and more. Thank you Erin!

Erin Flanagan recommends: Prom Mom by Laura Lippman; Yellowface by R. F. Kuang; I Have Some Questions For You by Rebecca Makkai; Beware the Woman by Megan Abbott; The Good Girl House by Erin Flanagan (please scroll down on that landing page to find the story). Place your hold here for all Erin Flanagan titles!

Follow Erin on Instagram and Twitter: @erinlflanagan

 


E130: Interview with James Wade, author of Beasts of the Earth



All Things Left Wild by James Wade was one of my favorite novels of the last two years, as was River, Sing Out. But neither of those novels could have prepared me for the dark and compelling vision of Beasts of the Earth.”   ~David Heska Wanbli Weiden, Spur and Anthony Award-winning author of Winter Counts

James Wade’s third book, Beasts of the Earth, is a heart-stopper, a jaw-dropper, and a prose-stunner. The characters of Harlen LeBlanc and Munday Fisher are two you won’t soon forget. There’s a reason the New York Review of Books calls James Wade an “an author of extraordinary merit.” Take a listen to this interview with three-peat guest author James Wade. Thank you so much Mr. W for joining me once again on the show! It’s always a pleasure, but it’s an even bigger pleasure reading your fabulous novels.

Reserve James Wade titles here.  Follow James Wade on Instagram at @jameswadewriter

James Wade recommends: Oleander City by Matt Bondurant; Stella Maris by Cormac McCarthy; The Passenger by Cormac McCarthy; The Last Karankawas by Kimberly Garza


E129: Interview with James McBride, author of The Heaven & Earth Grocery Store



What an episode! I had the pleasure of hosting James McBride, the award-winning author, musician, and screenwriter to talk about his latest book, The Heaven & Earth Grocery Store.  His landmark memoir, The Color of Water, has sold millions of copies and is considered an American classic. His debut novel, Miracle at St. Anna, was turned into a 2008 film by Oscar-winning writer/director Spike Lee, with a script written by McBride. His 2013 novel, The Good Lord Bird, about American abolitionist John Brown, won the National Book Award for Fiction and was a Showtime limited series, starring Ethan Hawke.

Yes, that James McBride, and he joined me on this episode to talk about his new book, The Heaven & Earth Grocery Store, the price of secrets, the choices we make as people, and the power of community. Thank you so much James McBride!

Place your hold for all James McBride titles here.